Members of the 118th Congress U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Members of the 118th Congress,

We are running for Congress to solve problems for the American people. Whether it's lowering costs and growing the economy, protecting access to health care and reproductive freedom, defending Social Security or reducing gun violence, we can only meet the challenges of our day if our democracy is responsive to the people.

Americans in all parts of the country agree that our democracy works best when everyone has a voice. Yet, today our nation is being tested by a coordinated effort to take power away from the people and shift it to extremists, dark money groups, and corporate special interests.

A rise in extremism, misinformation, and political violence combined with an onslaught of restrictive voting laws, partisan election interference, and a wave of dark money are pushing the nation to a breaking point. We hear from regular Americans everyday, and they are more concerned about the state of democracy than ever before.

Congress has the solution readily available and it's time to get it done. We're writing today to let you know that we are running for Congress to protect and strengthen our democracy so that everyone's vote is counted and voice is heard, and that our elected officials are accountable to the people.

We - a coalition of 51 candidates running to represent districts stretching from coast to coast - are calling in one collective voice that on Day 1 of the 119th Congress, we must pass the Freedom to Vote Act and John R. Lewis Voting Rights Advancement Act and send them to the President's desk to be signed into law.

Our districts reflect the great diversity that makes this country special. Each has unique populations and pressing issues impacting our communities. However, one thing they all share is they are immensely harmed when our democracy does not work for them.

The only way we can solve the major issues challenging our nation that all our campaigns are focused on is by repairing and fortifying our democracy.

The Freedom to Vote Act and John R. Lewis Voting Rights Advancement Act are once-in-a-generation bills that will do just that. They contain overwhelmingly popular reforms to protect our elections, the freedom to vote, and the voices of the American people. They will combat the extremism that has taken hold of too much power and has stood in the way of progress. These bills will ensure that the will of the voters decides elections, that political leaders listen to the voices of the people and abide by the rule of law, and that they are held accountable when they don't.

Driven by several classes of candidates who have made protecting democracy a centerpiece of their platform for public service, Democrats in Congress have made these bills their priority legislation for three consecutive Congresses. Anti-democratic obstruction has blocked passage of these bills. We are determined to overcome that and ensure that, at the start of the next Congress, these long overdue and critical reforms are passed and signed into law.

We call on all of those serving in, or running for, Congress to join us in making this commitment to this legislation, so that the public's calls for action on pro-democracy legislation are finally heard and accounted for. The American public is counting on us. Our very democracy depends on it.

Sincerely,

Shomari Figures (AL-02), Amish Shah (AZ-01), Jonathan Nez (AZ-02), Yassamin Ansari (AZ-03), Kirsten Engel (AZ-06), Lateefah Simon (CA-12), Adam Gray (CA-13), Rudy Salas (CA-22), George Whitesides (CA-27), Luz Rivas (CA-29), Laura Friedman (CA-30), Gil Cisneros (CA-31), Will Rollins (CA-41), Derek Tran (CA-45), Dave Min (CA-47), Adam Frisch (CO-03), Sarah McBride (DE-AL), Whitney Fox (FL-13), Christina Bohannan (IA-01), Lanon Baccam (IA-03), Johnny Olszewski (MD-02), Sarah Elfreth (MD-03), April McClain-Delaney (MD-06), Curtis Hertel (MI-07), Kristen McDonald Rivet (MI-08), Carl Marlinga (MI-10), Wesley Bell (MO-01), Monica Tranel (MT-01), Tony Vargas (NE-02), Maggie Goodlander (NH-02), Sue Altman (NJ-07), John Avlon (NY-01), Laura Gillen (NY-04), George Latimer (NY-16), Mondaire Jones (NY-17), Josh Riley (NY-19), John Mannion (NY-22), Maxine Dexter (OR-03), Janelle Bynum (OR-05), Ashley Ehasz (PA-01), Janele Stelson (PA-10), Michelle Vallejo (TX-15), Sylvester Turner (TX-18), Julie Johnson (TX-32), Missy Cotter Smasal (VA-02), Eugene Vindman (VA-07), Suhas Subramanyam (VA-10), Emily Randall (WA-06), Peter Barca (WI-01), Rebecca Cooke (WI-03), Kristin Lyerly (WI-08).